Dogpro Plus State Arena Championship 2022

Thursday 11th August to Sunday 14th August 2022

Written by Nan Lloyd
Images Nan Lloyd & Simon Wallace

The state arena trial was held this year at Yallambee, Ken and Jenny Atherton’s property near Arthur River.

The weather was changeable, the first two days were chilly but bearable, but on the Saturday a cold front swept in, bringing bucketing rain and strong winds.  A large heap of dead wood near the trial ground was lit and this was the place to be.

Sunday could not have been more contrasting. Beautiful warm sunshine and no wind. A great day for the open final which was hotly contested.

The sheep however, did not care about the weather, they were difficult throughout the whole trial.

The cast caused the most problems, the sheep had a tendency to head towards the fence, usually at top speed and sometimes go straight over and head for home. This made the pickup somewhat difficult, and many people failed to leave the casting peg.

Some people managed to get them down the ground only to have them make many breaks for the fence again, sometimes going over or causing a cross.

The bridge was very hard to work, the sheep would not even look in the right direction let alone go over.

There were only a handful of pens for the weekend.

Yallambee is a picturesque ground for trialing and always has a wonderful array of delicious food in their relatively new canteen. This was also a popular spot.

The State Open winner was Neil Kristiansen with Princes Delta on 128 points.

Neil also won the State Improver with Badgingarra Maggie on 92 points.

Rod Forsyth won the State Novice with Barkervale Clark on 114 points.

The Mayanup Patron’s trophy was awarded to Des Davies.

The WAWSDA patrons awards went to Rod Forsyth for the Novice, Des Davies for the Improver and Blake Robinson for the Open.

Ivan Solomon was presented with the Supreme Dog of the year with Perangery Trish.

Novice had 39 entries and seven scores.

Improver 46 entries and nine scores.

Open 67 entries and 30 scores.

Novice Final
Judged by Des Davies

1Rod ForsythBarkervale Clark (K)4272114
2Ken AthertonRamulam Prickles (K)5053103
3Ken AthertonRamulan Judy (K)373370
4Neil KristiansenBadgingarra Sir Ben (BC)46X46
5Jan CornishBellview Bailey (BC)35RTD35
6Peter DohertyRamulam Sixpence (K)2020
7Tony BoyleBoylee Squirt (BC)22
X = Cross
RTD = Retired

K = Kelpie
BC = Border Collie

Improver Final
Judged by Len Morton

1Neil KristiansenBadgingarra Maggie (BC)524092
2Karyn BullerBoonining Turbo (K)463783
3Des DaviesMarionvale Bella (BC)56X56
4Rob SmithBoonining Duck (K)49LS49
5Neil WhyteGogetta Duchess (K)44X44
6Tony BoyleBoylee Cournel (BC)4141
7Karyn BullerBoonining Maisy (K)3737
8Nan LloydKumbark Ace (K)3535
9Neil KristiansenBadgingarra Sir Ben (BC)2323
X = Cross
LS = Lost Sheep

K = Kelpie
BC = Border Collie

Open Final
Judged by Wayne Hall

1Neil KristiansenPrinces Delta (BC)5474128
2Ivan SolomonPerangery Trish (BC)5368121
3Peter GormanPendalup Steel (BC)5763120
4Peter GormanPendalup Lucy (BC)5461115
5Dave LaceyAkoonah Lady (BC)6251113
6Tony BoyleBoylee Midget (BC)5651107
7Dave LaceyFarnham Will (BC)5352105
8Grant CookeGrassvalley Bluey (BC)5347100
9Len MortonPerangery Maudie (BC)554196
10Neil KristiansenPendalup Sambo (BC)57LS57
11Len MortonPerangery Sadie (BC)55RTD55
12Peter GormanCoshies Dusty (BC)52LS52
RTD = Retired
LS = Lost Sheep

K = Kelpie
BC = Border Collie