Dogpro Plus Pingelly Supreme 2023

Report by Nan Lloyd
Photos Nan Lloyd & Simon Wallace

Pingelly Sheepdog Grounds 13th – 16th July 2023.
Hosted by Esperance and Districts Working Sheep Dog Club Inc.

The Pingelly trial was probably one of the coldest we have had for some time. There was a crunching frost Friday and Saturday nights, and temperatures of minus 2 or so. The ice was thick on the grounds as well as on the cars and caravans. During the day temperatures only got to about 14 so most of us were well rugged up.

The highlight of Pingelly is the eating places. Most people tried both hotels as well as the Recreation center and enjoyed some lovely meals.

The sheep were difficult but workable. The open sheep started off reasonably well on the Sat morning but deteriorated rapidly for some reason only known to sheep. They were difficult to keep on course, and constantly fought the dogs, refusing the obstacles, and trying their best to break back to the let-outs.

They did not like being hassled too much, but needed some domination to move them at times.

Some dogs worked them fairly well, producing some reasonable scores.

Most people had a bit of a battle with the sheep, particularly in the open final. The scores dropped considerably.

Entries were very good. 59 in the Novice, 63 in the improver and 76 in the open.

There was a run-off for the open title between Grant Cooke with Grassvalley Bluey and Peter Gorman with Pendalup Lucy. Grant and Bluey prevailed with a final score of 194 to Peter and Lucy with 174.
Grant also took out the Improver with Grassvalley Theo and the novice was won by Neil Kristiansen with Badgingarra Sir Ben.

Judged by Steve Wallace

1Cree MonaghanGraedawn Finn
 T WardSt Albans Boss
 Lee CrockfordDrycreek Zarin
 T WardSt Albans Saphire

Judged by Brad Rose

1Neil KristiansenBadgingarra Sir Ben87
2Nan LloydBinnaburra Ruffy (K)78
3Per OstbergMy Nr One Favvo77
4Frank MaynardPendalup Nicki74
5Tony BoyleBoylee Cournel73
6Simon LeaningMarionvale Woody (K)71
=7Terry MartinoMarionvale Bo (K)70
=7Simon LeaningMax70
9Len Morton McConnells Johnny67
10Doreen HansenBinnaburra Bubbles (K)65
K- Kelpie

Judged by Des Davies

1Grant CookeGrassvalley Theo93
2Gordon CurtisBinnaburra Buzz (K)89
3Nan LloydKumbark Ace (K)87
=4Per OstbergMy Nr One Favvo85
=4Peter GormanPendalup Ted85
=6Neil KristiansenBadgingarra Sir Ben84
=6Ken Atherton Ramulam Prickles (K)84
=8Peter DohertyRamulam Sixpence (K)83
=8Jan CornishBellview Bailey83
=8Grant CookeGrassvalley Palmer83
K- Kelpie

Judged by Phil Dorrell

 WorkerDog1st run2nd RunRun offTotal
1Grant CookeGrassvalley Bluey866543194
2Peter GormanPendalup Lucy767523174
3Ken AthertonRamulam Prickles (K)8268150
4Ken AthertonRamulam Charlie (K)7359132
5Ivan SolomonPerangery Trish8737124
=6Peter GormanBadgingarra Missy7646122
=6Simon LeaningYarrabee Jack (K)8537122
8Nigel ArmstrongYarralonga Scope (K)7543118
9Blake RobinsonNap6750117
10Tanya deBijlJarrah (K)7329102
11Simon LeaningMarionvale Andy77SCR77
12Gordon CurtisBinnaburra Buzz (K)68RTD68
K- Kelpie
SCR – Scratched
RTD – Retired