Dogpro Plus Binnaburra Yard & Utility 2023

Report Nana Lloyd
Images Karyn Buller & Nan Lloyd

Binnaburra Farm, Kellerberrin, June 30th – July 2nd, 2023

The Binnaburra Yard and utility trial is known for its ‘coolish’ weather and this year was no exception. Near zero temperatures in the mornings, and freezing winds most of the day kept us all in jackets and warm hats.

The highlight of the day was the diesel ‘woofer’, heater, in the evening which everyone formed a big circle around.

We had a very good roll up of entries and it is great to see some of the three sheep triallers having a go as well.

It was also great to have some new members pitch in and help, as Utility trialling can be very labour intensive.

The evening BBQs make for a wonderful social atmosphere.

The sheep were very good but were inclined to lean on some dogs and draw onto the dogs with too much eye. They required a fair bit of persuasion to enter the first gather in the yard so there was some time lost there. Some of the sheep were so quiet that they were inclined to walk up and sniff the handlers and not move on. The sheep were quite good at the obstacles but didn’t like being hassled too much.

Unloading the truck caused a few problems in the Open Yard, and most points were lost there.

The highlight of the weekend was Nigel Armstrong having a run-off against himself in the Open Yard final. Nigel had two dogs, Tumutvalley Roy and Yarralonga Scope, tied for first place after two runs. Tumutvalley Roy prevailed over Yarralonga Scope with a final score of 273 to Scope’s 268 points.

The Patron’s award was won by Steve Wallace, Kat Oliver and Lee Crockford.

Judged by Ken Atherton

1Kat OliverBinnaburra Jazz
2Lee CrockfordDrycreek Zarin

Novice Utility
Judged by Jason Crockford

Jason Crockford judged by Rod Forsyth and Karyn Buller
Scores 120

1Nan LloydKumbark Lexie86
2Karyn BullerBoco Louie68
3Ken AthertonRamulam Prickles67
4Jason CrockfordWyndora Dusty61.5

Novice Yard
Judged by Jason Crockford

Jason Crockford judged by Rod Forsyth and Karyn Buller
Scores 50

 HandlerDogScore 1Score 2Total
1Ken AthertonRamulam Prickles444387
2Jason CrockfordBuntall Bull424284
3Nan LloydKumbark Lexie453681
4Tony BoyleBoylee Guss (BC)42951

Improver Yard
Judged by Nan Lloyd

Scores 100

 HandlerDogScore 1Score 2Total
1Jason CrockfordWyndora Dusty8293175
2Allan DunnDunns Smallchange8089169
3Gordon CurtisBinnaburra Marvin6787154
4Grant CookeGrassvalley Bluey (BC)7962141
5Ken AthertonRamulam Fella78LS78

Open Utility
Judged by Gordon Curtis

Gordon Curtis Judged by Nigel Armstrong and Karyn Buller
Final Judged by Nigel Armstrong

Nigel Armstrong judged by Gordon Curtis and Karyn Buller
Scores 120

 HandlerDogScore 1Score 2Total
1Ken AthertonRamulam Charlie85100185
2Grant CookeGrassvalley Bluey (BC)10175176
3Ken AthertonRamulam Fella9480174
4Gordon CurtisKumbark Scotty79.584163.5
5Nigel ArmstrongYarralonga Scope8174155
6Nan LloydKumbark Ace8261143
7Karyn BullerBoco Louie7364137
8Rod ForsythGrassvalley Hazel (BC)7849127
9Rod ForsythKumbark Todd7245117
10Gordon CurtisBinnaburra Marvin72LS72

Open Yard
Judged by Nan Lloyd

Nan Lloyd Judged by Nigel Armstrong and Ken Atherton
Scores 100

 HandlerDogScore 1Score 2Run OffTotal
1Nigel ArmstrongTumutvalley Roy879690273
2Nigel ArmstrongYarralonga Scope929185268
3Allan DunnGogetta Thor8696 182
4Ken AthertonRamulam Charlie9187 178
5Allan DunnDunns Smallchange8092 172
6Gordon CurtisKumbark Tina8975 164
=7Ken AthertonRamulam Fella7884 162
=7Rod ForsythKumbark Todd8082 162
9Karyn BullerDunns Chopper7874 152
10Nan LloydKumbark Ace66.585 151.5