Dogpro Plus Binnaburra Yard & Utility 2022

Report by Nan Lloyd
Photo’s by Nan Lloyd

The event was held at Binnaburra June 30th to July 4th 2022.

Binnaburra is near Kellerberrin approximately 200kms east of Perth. Gordon and Sarah Curtis have been running Utility trials on their property for about 27 years.

The sheep were young merinos and were very good trial sheep. They could be stubborn at times, but would split and run if pressured too much. Dogs with too much eye struggled a bit to move them.
In the yard they were quite good, but could pile up and jump fences if the dogs upset them.

The weather was quite good, with a couple of very cold nights but warmish days. Sunday morning saw the return of the Binnaburra breeze, a freezing lazy wind that had everyone well rugged up.

There were 28 entries in the Novice Utility, 30 in the novice yard, 33 in the open utility and 31 entries in the Improver/open yard.

Utility scores were out of 115, Novice yard scores out of 65 and Improver/Open scores out of 100.

Utility dog of the year was decided at this event and the winner was Ken Atherton and Ramulam Punch, which was fitting as it was Punch’s last utility trial. She has won this award many times and has been a wonderful dog for Ken.

Also, open yard Winner Tony Boyle’s Boylee Sugar, is 13 years old, which shows you cant keep good dogs down.

Patrons awards for good work went to Jemma Chenik and Neil White.


1Steve WallaceGibsons Sweep (K)
2Gemma ChenikPilbara Daley (K)

Novice Utility
Judged by Grant Cooke
(max points 115)

1Rod ForsythGrassvalley Hazel (BC)90
2Simon LeaningMarionvale Di (BC)84
3Karyn BullerBoonining Turbo (K)83
4Ken AthertonRamulam Charlie (K)82

Novice Yard
Judged by Grant Cooke
(max points 65)

1Rod ForsythGrassvalley Hazel (BC)60
2Ken AthertonRamulam Charlie (K)59
=3Allan DunnDunns Smallchange (K)58
=3Gordon CurtisBinnaburra Buzz (K)58

Improver Yard
Judged by Nan Lloyd
(max points 100)

1Ken AthertonRamulam Charlie (K)9189180
2Karyn BullerDunns Chopper (K)8888176
3Gordon CurtisKumbark Tina (K)9180171
4Tony BoyleBoylee Midget (BC)8971160
5Simon LeaningMarinvale Lad (BC)87LS87
LS = Lost Sheep

Open Utility
Judged by Ken Atherton
(max points 115)

1Gordon CurtisKumbark Tina (K)9990189
2Ken AthertonRamulam Punch (K)9492.5186.5
3Simon LeaningMarionvale Di (BC)9183174
4Rod ForsythGrassvalley Hazel (BC)7791168
5Nigel ArmstrongYarralonga Scope (K)8284166
6Ken AthertonRamulam Fella (K)81.583164.5
=7Grant SookeGrassvalley Bluey (BC)9568163
=7Tanya De BijlBoylee Scout (BC)7786163
9Rod ForsythKumbark Tod (K)8078158
=10Rod ForsythBarkervale Clark (K)7872150
=10Nan LloydKumbark Lexie (K)7773150
12Nan LloydKumbark Ace (K)74RTD74
RTD = Retired

Open Yard
Judged by Nan Lloyd
(max points 100)

1Tony BoyleBoylee Sugar (BC)9290182
2Gordon CurtisKumbark Tina (K)9189180
3Ken AthertonRamulam Charlie (K)9187178
4Allan DunnGogetta Thor (K)8592177
5Nigel ArmstrongTumutvalley Roy (K)8184165
6Ken AthertonRamulam Punch (K)8488172
7Nigel ArmstrongYarralonga Scope (K)8184165
8Simon LeaningMarionvale Lad (K)8777164
9Karyn BullerBoco Louie (K)8380163
10Gordon CurtisKumbark Scotty (K)8180161
11Tony BoyleBoylee Midget (BC)8965154
12Nan LloydKumbark Ace (K)76.577.5153