Dogpro Plus Ballidu Arena trial. July 31-Aug 2nd.



Ballidu arena was only the fourth trial for the year in WA, with some trials having to be cancelled due to the Covid 19 restrictions. There were near record entries, so some runs were cut to allow the trial to finish before dark.

It was a great trial. The weather was near perfect, chilly nights and warmish days but with a cool breeze to keep the dogs and stock cool. It has been very dry though and local farmers would have been

happier with rain, but it was good trialling weather.

The sheep were supplied and carted by Malcolm and Shelly Sutherland. They were tricky but workable. They did not like being pushed too much and could run fast if upset. They were also inclined to stand up to a few of the dogs, but when handled right they complied well and there were some high scores. Some of the inexperienced dogs did battle with them a bit.


There were some close finishes in all the events but for the first time in WA history there was a tie for first with the same handler. Frank Sutherland recorded his first open win in fine style at the grand age of 85 with his dog Rocky Judy, a dog he had bred and trained himself. Judy is 11 year old. Pendalup Sue was his other dog, so he had to have a run off to decide the winner. He ran Judy again for another great score and then scratched Sue. It was a very popular win, as Frank has struggled with various health issues for the last couple of years.


The dinner on Saturday evening at the local Tavern was well attended with 32 people enjoying a delicious buffet meal.

In the novice there were 56 entries and nine scores, the improver had 46 entries and 16 scores, and the open had 65 entries with 30 scores.






1st Rose Cassidy. Nolans Shana. 58. BC.



Novice judged by Len Morton.


1st. Dave Lacey. MGH Jack.79. BC.

2nd Simon Leaning. Marionvale Andy. 78. BC.

3rd. Peter Gorman. Pendalup Nicky. 75. BC.

4th. Jenny Nolan. Nolans Nitro. 74. BC.

5th. Jenny Nolan. Nolans Dallas. 70. BC.

6th. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Lexi. 68. Kelpie

=7th.Gordon Curtis. Kumbark Scotty. 62. Kelpie

=7th. Rod Forsyth. Barkervale Austin. 62. Kelpie.

9th.Neil Kristianson. Pendalup Sambo. 59. BC.



Improver, judged by Yvonne Haynes.


1st. Dave Lacey. Brands Hatch Tusker. 85. BC.

=2nd. Rod Forsyth. Barkervale Clark. 84. Kelpie.

=2nd. Len Morton. Perengary Sadie. 84. BC.

4th. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Ace. 83. Kelpie.

=5th. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Tobie. 80. Kelpie.

=5th. Jenny Nolan. Nolans Jedda. 80. BC.

7th.Jenny Palm. Brindabella Domini. 65. BC.

8th Tony Boyle. Chillie. 64. Kelpie X.

9th. Caroline Bell. Gibsons Smokey. 57. BC.

10th. Gibb Mcdonald. Boylee Ben. 55 BC.



Open, judged by Marianne Rogers.


1st. Frank Sutherland. Rocky Judy.86+98=175+81=256. BC

2nd. Frank Sutherland. Pendalup Sue.88+87=175+SCR=175. BC.

3rd. Dave Lacey. Akoonah Blondie.88+86=174. BC.

4th. Gordon Curtis. Kumbark Indi. 90+82=172. Kelpie.

5th. Gordon Curtis. Whites Joe. 83+87=170. Kelpie.

6th. IvanSolomon. Perengary Sasha. 78+89=167. BC.

7th. Tony Boyle. Boylee Midget.96+61=157. BC.

8th. Simon Leaning. Marionvale Mindy. 78+77=155. Kelpie.

9th. Neil Kristianson. Princes Delta. 85+69=154. BC.

10th.Peter Gorman. Pendalup Steel. 78+69=147. BC.

11th. Dave Lacey. Akoonah Lady.91+45=136. BC.

12th. Grant Cooke. Badgingarra Fly. 83+RTD=83.

13th. Ivan Solomon. Rocky Fran. 82+RTD+82. BC

14th. Gib Mcdonald. Boylee Ben. 80+X=80.

15th. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Punch. 78+RTD=78. Kelpie.



Frank Sutherland won the AJC perpetual trophy for the winner of the championship.

Winner of the Glenvar Perpetual Trophy for the highest score in any event went to Tony Boyle and Boylee Midget.

Winner of the Patrons trophy for the highest aggregate was Len Morton and Perengery Sadie


Winner of the Dr T Lovegrove trophy for the Northern District member gaining the highest score in the first round of the Championship was Gordon Curtis and Kumbark Indi.



Open winners Frank Sutherland and Rocky Judy. Simon Wallace photo.


Rod Forsyth's Barvervale Clarke.


Jenny Nolan and Nolans Jasper.


Gibb Mcdonald's Boylee Ben.


Unknown dog having a battle in the dust.




Novice placegetters. Dave Lacey, 1st. Simon Leaning, 2nd. Peter Gorman 3rd.

Jenny Nolan, 4th and 5th. Simon Wallace photo


Improver placegetters. Rod Forsyth, =2nd. Dave Lacey 1st, Len Morton, =2nd. Nan Lloyd 4th.

Jenny Nolan =5th. Ken Atherton =5th. . Simon Wallace photo


Open placegetters. Dave Lacey, 3rd. Frank Sutherland, 1st and 2nd. Gordon Curtis. 4th and 5th.

Simon Wallace photo .



Article by Nan Lloyd.

Photos by Nan Lloyd unless otherwise stated.













Web Design Magicdust